Another 4-country day

Bonjour mes amis! Tomorrow I leave my lovely Gallic-Alsatian hideaway and head to Lisbon! I am very excited since a) I am feeling much better after my forced 2+ weeks of recuperation, b) I get to go to Lisbon, a city I have been wanting to visit for a long time, and c) Greg will meet me there and we will attempt to walk the Camino Portugues!

The Camino Portugues is very much what it sounds like: one of the many established routes of pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela via Portugal:

https://www.csj.org.uk/planning-your-pilgrimage/routes-to-santiago/the-route-in-portugal/

So we will actually start walking not in Lisbon, but in Porto. It would be great to walk from Lisbon, but that would take much longer than the two weeks of time we have before we return to the United States.

The journey I will undertake tomorrow to Lisbon is a bit convoluted, but it’s what I managed to hack together using all my very best budget travel ninja moves.

1. Bus from Strasbourg to Saarbrucken, Germany.

2. Bus from Saarbrucken to Luxembourg.

3. Metro from city center to airport in Luxembourg.

4. Fly from Luxembourg to Lisbon!

Thus, another 4-country day! The last time I did something like this, I drove from Strasbourg to my friend’s hometown in northern Italy via Germany and Austria. We also got within 200 meters of the Swiss border with western Austria.

This past 9 months of traveling has been really amazing,  and I feel lucky and happy that I made this happen for myself. But I must say I am looking forward to staying in one spot for a while.

2 thoughts on “Another 4-country day

Leave a Reply

